Welcome
Welcome to <strong>militarianz</strong>.

You are currently viewing Militarianz as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, <a href="/profile.php?mode=register">join our community today</a>!

New Zealand Volunteers cuff rank set

World War I uniforms go here

New Zealand Volunteers cuff rank set

Postby aussie jason » Sat Jul 02, 2011 2:14 am

Hi all

Some time ago i picked up this set because the price was very good and it just felt and looked like a legit uniform. it also came with a XIII reinforcements peak cap (sorry if thats incorrect im not good with NZ items) But this looks later with black NEW ZEALAND FORCES buttons. The uniform appears to have had collar insignia at some point, wondering what would have originaly been there. Also any info on what period this uniform was used would be great. Sorry for all the questions! Any help will be greatly appreciated If anyones interested il post up my WW2 New zealand uniforms in the ww2 section.

Cheers
Jason

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

aussie jason

Re: New Zealand Volunteers cuff rank set

Postby nbroadarrowz » Sat Jul 02, 2011 10:24 pm

Jason,
A very nice uniform jacket.
This pattern was first worn in NZ in 1912 after introduction Territorial force system.
It was worn by Territorial Officers. Because the TF wore their rank on the cuff there was no need for shoulder straps. In 1913 an open collar version of this jacket was introduced and some were converted. Both these patterns of jacket was what was worn in the early stages of the war.
As for the buttons, they were using up old stock.